PIAA Girls’ Swimming & Diving Team Champions

The Pennsylvania Interscholastic Athletic Association (PIAA) has crowned team champions in girls’ swimming & diving since 1977. Each classification champion and additional schools from the Western Pennsylvania Interscholastic Athletic League (WPIAL) have qualified for the PIAA Championships since its inception, with PIAA District VII claiming a total of 29 state champions in the sport.

The WPIAL has produced multiple PIAA team champions five times, doing so in 1996, 1997, 1999, 2002, and 2023. A total of eight different WPIAL schools have won PIAA titles, with Oakland Catholic’s nine being the most in league history. The other schools who have won a PIAA championship are: North Allegheny (8), Bethel Park (4), Gateway (3), Moon (2), Mt. Lebanon (1), Mt. Pleasant (1), and Norwin (1).

A full list of team champions by year and classification can be found below. The 2A classification did not have a champion crowned in 2020 due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

To view the list of PIAA individual champions from the WPIAL, please click here: LINK

Year School Class Results
2023 North Allegheny 3A 194; def. runner-up Hatboro-Horsham by 18 points
  Mt. Pleasant 2A 218.5; def. runner-up Wyoming Seminary by 100.5 points
2021 North Allegheny 3A 167; def. runner-up Wilson by 15 points
2010 Oakland Catholic 2A 187; def. runner-up Wyomissing by 30 points
2009 Oakland Catholic 2A 181; def. runner-up Shady Side Academy by 30 points
2008 Oakland Catholic 2A 169.5; def. runner-up Radnor by 31.5 points
2007 Oakland Catholic 2A 165; def. runner-up Panther Valley by 7 points
2004 Oakland Catholic 2A 159; def. runner-up Bradford by 50 points
2003 Oakland Catholic 2A 149; def. runner-up Bishop Hoban by 28 points
2002 Mt. Lebanon 3A 170; def. runner-up Parkland by 55 points
Oakland Catholic 2A 173; def. runner-up Bishop Hoban by 62 points
2001 Oakland Catholic 2A 150; def. runner-up Gwynedd Mercy Academy by 30 points
1999 Bethel Park 3A 168; def. runner-up Mt. Lebanon by 50 points
Oakland Catholic 2A 146; def. runner-up Gwynedd Mercy Academy by 35 points
1998 Bethel Park 3A 112; def. runner-up Emmaus by 1 point
1997 North Allegheny 3A 189; def. runner-up Fox Chapel by 74 points
Moon 2A 168; def. runner-up Bloomsbury by 20 points
1996 North Allegheny 3A 149; def. runner-up Emmaus by 43.5 points
Moon 2A 141; def. runner-up Bloomsburg by 22 points
1995 North Allegheny 3A 161; def. runner-up Wilson by 39 points
1992 North Allegheny 144; def. runner-up Parkland by 15.5 points
1991 North Allegheny 131; def. runner-up North Penn by 34 points
1988 Gateway 108; def. runner-up Dover by 14 points
1987 Bethel Park 103; def. runner-up Dover by 1.5 points
1986 Gateway 109; def. runner-up Bethel Park by 29 points
1985 Gateway 91; def. runner-up North Allegheny by 6 points
1984 North Allegheny 109; def. runner-up Emmaus by 17 points
1982 Norwin 87; def. runner-up Bethel Park by 15 points
1981 Bethel Park