WPIAL Gymnastics Individual Champions

The Western Pennsylvania Interscholastic Athletic League (WPIAL) has crowned individual champions in gymnastics since 1980. The 2022-2023 season marks the WPIAL’s 45th year of competition in the sport, and saw Baldwin’s Abby Rexrode capture the Pennsylvania Interscholastic Athletic Association (PIAA) District VII all-around crown at the 2023 WPIAL Gymnastics Individual Championships.

Below you will find links to each event’s champion, as well as a list of the WPIAL gymnastics all-around champions. There have been 10 student-athletes who have won multiple WPIAL all-around titles, with Hopewell’s Kelly Burka (2010-12), North Allegheny’s Jamie Davic (1993-95), and North Allegheny’s Angie Evans (1986-88) serving as the only three-time champions. The other student-athletes to win multiple all-around titles are: Baldwin’s Abby Rexrode (2022-23), Quaker Valley’s Tabitha Bemis (2007-08), North Allegheny’s Katie Maranuk (2002-03), North Allegheny’s Anne St. Clair (2000-01), Baldwin’s Mary DeFrancesco (1997-98), Baldwin’s Kim Calderone (1983-84), and Butler’s Bev Fry (1980, 1982).

Uneven Bars | Balance Beam | Floor Exercise | Vault

To view the list of team champions, please click here: LINK

Year All-Around Champion(s)
2023 Abby Rexrode (Baldwin)
2022 Abby Rexrode (Baldwin)
2021 Carolyn Grimm (Central Valley)
2020 Samantha Alexander (Pine-Richland)
2019 Natalie Galioto (Thomas Jefferson)
2018 Taylor Johnson (Burrell)
2017 Katrina Jones (Hampton)
2016 Alicia Hinnebusch (North Allegheny)
2015 Rachel Hornung (Hampton)
2014 Danijela Jergan (North Allegheny)
2013 Sarah Haslett (Moon)
2012 Kelly Burak (Hopewell)
2011 Kelly Burak (Hopewell)
2010 Kelly Burak (Hopewell)
2009 Natalie Beilstein (Knoch)
2008 Tabitha Bemis (Quaker Valley)
2007 Tabitha Bemis (Quaker Valley)
2006 Rae Letterle (Fox Chapel)
2005 Shannon McConnell (North Allegheny)
2004 Vanessa Rocca (North Allegheny)
2003 Katie Maranuk (North Allegheny)
2002 Katie Maranuk (North Allegheny)
2001 Anne St. Clair (North Allegheny)
2000 Anne St. Clair (North Allegheny)
1999 Mandy Yovanovic (Ambridge)
1998 Mary DeFrancesco (Baldwin)
1997 Mary DeFrancesco (Baldwin)
1996 Kristin Hrenkevich (North Allegheny)
1995 Jamie Davic (North Allegheny)
1994 Jamie Davic (North Allegheny)
1993 Jamie Davic (North Allegheny)
1992 Dana Scanlon (Baldwin)
1991 Lisa Cardillo (North Allegheny)
1990 Mieke Weissert (North Allegheny)
1989 Meg Johns (North Allegheny)
1988 Angie Evans (North Allegheny)
1987 Angie Evans (North Allegheny)
1986 Angie Evans (North Allegheny)
1985 Lori Henkemeyer (Moon)
1984 Kim Calderone (Baldwin)
1983 Kim Calderone (Baldwin)
1982 Bev Fry (Butler)
1981 Cheryl Micklo (West Mifflin North)
1980 Bev Fry (Butler)