PIAA Boys’ Tennis Team Champions

The Pennsylvania Interscholastic Athletic Association (PIAA) has crowned team champions in boys’ tennis since 2001. Each classification champion and additional teams from the Western Pennsylvania Interscholastic Athletic League (WPIAL) have qualified for the PIAA Championships since its inception, with PIAA District VII claiming a total of 10 state team champions in the sport.

The WPIAL has produced multiple PIAA boys’ tennis team champions once, doing so in 2003. The X WPIAL schools who have won PIAA team titles are: Sewickley Academy (3), North Allegheny (2), Shady Side Academy (2), Butler (1), Quaker Valley (1), and Upper St. Clair (1).

A full list of team champions by year and classification can be found below. The 2020 season was not contested due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

To view the list of PIAA singles champions from the WPIAL, please click here: LINK
To view the list of PIAA doubles champions from the WPIAL, please click here: LINK

Year School Class Results
2017 Sewickley Academy 2A def. Bedford (5-0), Moravian Academy (5-0),
Wyomissing (5-0), Lancaster County Day (5-0)
2016 Sewickley Academy 2A def. Brockway (5-0), Moravian Academy (4-1),
Scranton Prep (3-0), Wyomissing (5-0)
2014 Shady Side Academy 3A def. McDowell (4-1), Lower Merion (3-1),
Council Rock North (3-1), Conestoga (3-2)
2010 Butler 3A def. Dubois (5-0), Council Rock North (3-2),
Radnor (3-1), Shady Side Academy (3-2)
2009 North Allegheny 3A def. Clearfield (5-0), Lower Merion (3-2),
State College (3-2), Council Rock North (3-2)
2008 Upper St. Clair 3A def. Taylor Allderdice (4-1), Radnor (5-0),
Great Valley (3-2), Lower Merion (3-2)
2006 Sewickley Academy 2A def. St. Mary’s (5-0), Scranton Prep (3-2),
Trinity (3-2), Moravian Academy (4-1)
2005 North Allegheny 3A def. McDowell (5-0), Pennsbury (3-2),
State College (3-2), Upper St. Clair (4-1)
2003 Shady Side Academy 3A def. Abington Heights (5-0), Cathedral Prep (3-2), Dallastown (3-2)
Quaker Valley 2A def. Harriton (3-2), Wyoming Seminary (3-2), Danville (3-2)